I've tried to set myself on a writing schedule to get this rewrite done in an efficient manner for the agent who wants to see it. Like Stephen King, one of my favorite authors, I push myself to write 2,000 words a day, writing 1,000 in the morning and 1,000 in the afternoon/evening hours. I achieved 4,000 already this week, putting me at 46,000 words (66% progress). At this rate, I'll probably finish my rewrite by my anniversary in 3 weeks. And then there are those lovely edits.

Most of the time I write at home on the recliner chair in front of the tube, with either Pandora running or watching something on Netflix. Some people have to have absolute silence when they write. I've met some NY Times bestselling authors who say they give up TV while they write a book and go out and buy a season or complete series of their favorite show on DVD as a reward when they finish. I have to have some kind of noise going on in the background to make me feel like I'm not alone in the house while my husband is working all day. It's a source of comfort.

I have recently discovered a great writing group that meets at Barnes and Noble on Monday mornings, so I usually go there to write on Mondays. It's a fun and motivational group. Lots of writers come to write. We sit there from 9 a.m.-12 p.m. and write for forty-five minutes and chat for fifteen minutes every hour. Now I feel motivated to go check out other places where I can write, like a library or a Starbucks (where they actually have outlets for my laptop), It gets old writing in my house all the time, but sometimes I am too lazy to venture out and explore. I need a change of scenery. 



Leave a Reply.